Home » The Cats Who Saved America » The Cats Who Saved America, Chapter 2, part 2

The Cats Who Saved America, Chapter 2, part 2

THE CATS CONVERSE

The fuehrer and his bodyguards were gone. Captain Kruger was on the dock talking with Fritz about preparations of the old boat for an ocean trip. The captain had assured Hitler that the boat could handle it, and Hitler had replied that within a few weeks crews would arrive to make “special preparations” in several areas of the vessel. He did not say exactly what, but made it clear that all work would be carried out secretly, and everything done would be explained to Captain Kruger well in advance of the ship’s departure.

Lili Marlene hurried along the deck, sniffing at doors of cabins and storage areas until she found one that had been left partially open. She went to it, paused, and looked around and knew immediately what was inside.

And the cat communications began. Fritz knew she would find the cabin and wanted her to know that her friend Hans was alive.

Cats communicate mind to mind, and there are humans, including Fritz, who are able sometimes to tune in on those communications.

Lili went straight to a box containing old rags which had been fashioned into a bed. Hans was there, sleeping, and Lili awakened them.

“Hans! Are you alright?”

The male cat opened his eyes.

“Hello there, Lili. I’m thankful they didn’t shoot at you. Those humans must be crazy. Who was the idiot doing all the screaming?”

Lili sat down next to the box of rags, relieved to find Hans had survived.

“Did they hurt you? Did you get hit  by a bullet?”

Hans sat up in a crouch.

“Just barely scraped one of my legs,” he said. “I’ll be alright in a day or so. Those crazy people are gone, are they not?”

“Yes. And I see Fritz brought you something to eat. The crazy little human doing the screaming wanted him to throw you in the river.”

Hans licked his hurt leg. “I know. I heard him. And Lili, as you know, we cats are able to detect things about certain humans, and it was clear to me that I was confronted by a human who was pure evil.”

“The crazy little human doing the screaming is the chancellor of our country of Germany. And he is, as you said, a lunatic who deserves to be removed from this earth. I would love to get my claws into him.”

Hans closed his eyes and opened them again. “He will receive what he is due, sooner or later.”

Lili stood up. “I believe I could take him down with one leap and claw his throat.”

Hans looked up at Lili, who was almost twice his size. “I’m sure you could, Lili, but I have a feeling we will have an opportunity for revenge on that monster.”

Lili looked down at him. “A feeling?”

Hans turned over. “We cats get feelings about things, I have a feeling we will have the opportunity of punishing this crazy devili of a human. But we must be patient.”

Hans was about to go back to sleep. “I hope so. That human is capable of destroying other humans. Not just cats. Perhaps we can stop him.”

Lili sat up, tasted a little of the scraps Fritz had left and then groomed herself. “I know. Those humans are dangerous not just to the humans around here but to the world. They’re out to hurt and kill other humans. I hope we can stop them.”

Hans lay back down and closed his eyes. “Fritz will help. He told me he was going with us on the voyage.”

“Go to sleep, Hans. So your leg will heal. You and I and Fritz may have a chance to stop these insane humans from hurting anyone else. But I think we’d both better stay out of sight. I’m sure there will be lots of humans coming to work on this ship to get it ready.”

Hans closed his eyes. But before he went to sleep he communicated one message to Lili: “My feeling is that what they’re planning will be something dangerously evil and will be a threat to many, many other humans. We need to find out what they’re got to do and stop them.”

“Yes, indeed,” Lili replied. “And we will do it, Hans. You just get plenty of rest.”

to be continued…

One thought on “The Cats Who Saved America, Chapter 2, part 2

Leave a comment